A Book Lover’s Survey

A Book Lover’s Survey

Ok, I’m basically procrastinating my homework at this point. But, I was bored. So, I’m doing this instead of Pre-Cal homework. As usual, I wasn’t tagged, but wanted to do this, so I did it anyways. Ok? Ok.

Here we go.

A Book Lover’s Survey

Hardback, trade paperback or mass market paperback?
Hardback to buy.
E-book to read.

Bookmark or dog-ear?
Bookmark!!!!!!!!!!!

Amazon or brick-and-mortar?
Either.

Alphabetize by author, or alphabetize by title, or random?
Organize by genre, then random within that, with an author’s books together in series order. Unread books are vertical, read book are horizontal.

Keep, throw away, or sell?
Keep, i’m a horder. My mom thinks I’m going to end up on Buried Alive one day.

Keep dust jacket or toss it?
Keep it, you monster.

Short story or novel?
Novel, all the way.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?
(Why????)
But, Harry Potter.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?
Depends on what is making me pause in my reading (chapter breaks to go to sleep, anywhere if I’m in school or something).

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?
Once upon a time…

Buy or borrow?
Buy, I’m a horder.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendations, or browse?
Booktube and Goodreads usually.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?
Tidy endings, please.

Morning reading, afternoon reading, or nighttime reading?
Whenever I find time.

Stand-alone or series?
Both

Favorite series?
1) That is like picking a favorite child.
2) My favorite child would be Harry Potter.

Favorite children’s book?
Awful End? Molly Moon? Little House in the Big woods? Alice in Wonderland? Pokemon? Peter and the Starcatchers? Series of Unforunate Events?

I don’t know, stop making me choose favorites.

Favorite YA book?
What did I just say?

I’ll name a few underrated ones (this is not a conclusive list)

  • The Catastrophic History of you and me
  • Megan Meads Guide to the Mcgowan Boys
  • The Juliet Spell
  • Gallager Girls Series
  • You Look Different In Real Life
  • The Geek Girl’s Guide to Cheerleading

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?
Look at the above list.

The add:

  • The Man who Mistook His Wife for a Hat
  • Summer Falls
  • The Disreputable History of Frankie Landue-Banks
  • Ender’s Game
  • It’s Kind of a Funny Story
  • So you want to be a Wizard
  • This is Where I Leave You

Favorite books of all time?
All of the above (and most of the below), then add:

  • All the Shadowhunter books
  • Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus
  • Twilight
  • We Were Liars
  • Hunger Games
  • Divergent
  • The Selection
  • The Hobbit
  • Fault In Our Stars
  • Paper Towns
  • Looking For Alaska
  • The Martain
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • My Sister’s Keeper
  • The Raven Boys
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • Throne of Glass
  • Fangirl
  • Eleanor and Park
  • Cruel Beauty
  • Crush (By Ricjard Siken)
  • My Life Next Door
  • Anna and the French Kiss
  • When You Reach Me
  • Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour
  • The Statistical Probability of Love at Fist Sight

And probably more, I’m just too lazy to keep looking through my Goodreads to see what I rated five stars.

If you are grieviously offended by a book’s lack of placement on this list, consider this: I haven’t read it yet, or I don’t even know it exists. Comment below with the books you think I should read.

What are you reading right now?
Currently reading The Martain by Andy Weir, I picked it up since its the book of the month for English Honor Society, and I’m loving it so far. (84% done)

What are you reading next?
Probably Vicious by VE Schwab. I started it before The Martain, but had to read The Martain first since it was for school. I’ll finish it after, its good so far. (24% done)

Favorite book to recommend to an 11-year-old?
Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, A Series of Unforunate Events, Molly Moon, Heir Appearent, Companion Quartet, Number the Stars, Willow Falls (11 birthdays, 12 finally, 13 gifts), Little House in the Big Woods, Peter and the Starcatchers, Ten Ways to Make My Sister Disapear, Alex Rider, Maximum Ride, and InkHeart were all childhood favorites.

Favorite book to re-read?
Harry Potter, sometimes other childhood favorites.

Do you ever smell books?
All the time.

Do you ever read primary source documents like letters or diaries?
Not unless required for class.

I’m adding these questions below because I feel like it. Okay? Okay.

Favorite Adult Book(s)?

  • This is where I leave You
  • My Sister’s Keeper
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • Yes Please
  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me
  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat

Book you couldn’t finish?

The ones that come to mind are:

  • Panic
  • Delirium
  • Matched
  • Beautiful Creatures

Book(s) everyone is talking about but you have’t read yet?

  • The 5th Wave
  • Red Queen
  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Darkest Minds
  • The Rest Of us Just Live Here
  • The Sword of Summer
  • The Book Thief
  • The Lux Series
  • Bloodlines
  • and probably more to be honest…

I can’t tag anyone, since I don’t know anyone well enough, but feel free to do it, link your post down below so I can check it out. (sorry I don’t know the creator of the survey)

4 thoughts on “A Book Lover’s Survey

  1. This is a great tag. So many book recommendations! Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? is such a great book! Mindy Kaling is one of my favourite people. Have you read Why Not Me? yet? I totally recommend it. I actually liked it even more than her first memoir.

    Like

Say Something!

