ANNUAL END OF THE YEAR SURVEY 2015

ANNUAL END OF THE YEAR SURVEY 2015

The annual end of the year survey is a survey made by Jamie over at The Perpetual Page Turner. I wasn’t tagged, but I saw it and It seemed interesting. So, let’s do this!

2015 Reading Stats

Number of Books You Read:
69

 Number of Re-Reads:
None, I think

Genre you read the most from:
YA

Best In Books

Best Book I read in 2015?
Don’t make me chose things. Though you can look at my ratings on Goodreads here

Book You were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t?
The Outliars was pretty disappointing.

 Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
I liked Felicia Day’s a lot more than I thought I would considering I dislike nonfiction.

23705512

Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?
Probably Illuminae.
23395680

Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best series ender of 2015?
Best Series Started: Throne of Glass
Best Sequel: The Dream Thieves
Best Series Ender: I literally didn’t read any

Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
Sarah J Maas and Maggie Stiefvater

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Crush by Richard Siken. It’s poetry, which I usually avoid because it feels like homework, but I love Richard Siken.

Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
I read Carry On in literally one night. Does that count? I also read Illuminae in three (school) days, on two of which I had volunteering.
23734628

Book you read in 2015 that you are most likely to re-read next year?
Probably The Raven Boys/The Dream Thieves since I want to finish the series next year. And probably Throne of Glass as well for the same reason.

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?
178789311767546223734628

Favorite Passage/Quote from a book you read in 2015?
“The universe owes you nothing, Kady. It has already given you everything, after all. It was here long before you, and it will go on long after you. The only way it will remember you is to do something worth remembrance.”
― Amie KaufmanIlluminae

“Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum. Duct tape works anywhere. Duct tape is magic and should be worshiped.”
― Andy WeirThe Martian

“What you are is a fucking tragedy, Simon Snow. You literally couldn’t be a bigger mess.”
He tries to kiss me, but I pull back- “And you like that?”
“I love it.” He says
“Why?”
“Because we match.”
― Rainbow RowellCarry On

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them.
Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness.
Her raven boys.”
― Maggie StiefvaterThe Dream Thieves

The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”
― Victoria AveyardRed Queen

“James!” Will snapped. “Don’t talk to Jem like that.”
“As if I am not used to badly behaved Herondales, Brother Zachariah said, in the way Jem had always tried to make peace between Will and the world.”
― Cassandra ClareThe Midnight Heir

Shortest & Longest book you read in 2015?
Shortest: Diary of an AssCan: A Mark Watney Story by Andy Weir
Longest: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Book that shocked you the most?
Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined. Just through its very existance.

OTP of the year (you will go down with this ship!)
Adam and Ronan in The Raven Cycle (even if they aren’t canon).

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship of the year?
Penny and Simon in Carry On.

Favorite book you read in 2015 from an author you’ve read previously?
The Bane Chronicles and Carry On.

Best book you read in 2015 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure:
A Court of Thorns and Roses and Red Queen.

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?
Noah Czerny and Chaol Westfall.

Best 2015 debut you read?
Red Queen.

Best Worldbuilding/Most vivid setting you read this year?
Throne of Glass. And thats with only reading the first book.

Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?
Carry On (I’m a Harry pooter nerd) and Twilight Reimagined (first new twilight book since I was nine, I loved it)

Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2015?
The Time Traveler’s Wife and All The Bright Places.

Hidden Gem of the year?
Crush by Richard Siken

Book that crushed your soul?
Most of them.

Most unique book you read in 2015?
I Heart You, You Haunt Me. It’s a novel told in freeverse.

Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
A Court of Thorns and Roses. I disliked the introduction of a love triangle at the end, but otherwise loved the book.

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?
Don’t make me choose things.

Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?
I sucked at review writing this year, my resolution for 2016 is to actually start, you know, writing them.

Best discussion/non review post you had on your blog?
My Supercon post, that was good.

Best event that your participated in (author signings, festivals, memes, etc)?
I went to my city’s book fair, that was fun!

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?
I don’t know I’m bad at picking favorites.

Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?
Finding time to do it.

Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
All posts are pretty dead tbh.

Post you wished got a little more love?
Any of them?

Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc)?
Biblio.com is pretty great.

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
I completed my Goodreads challenge.

Looking Ahead

One book you didn’t get to in 2015 but will be your number 1 priority in 2016?
I need to finish Magnus Chase, I’m halfway through.

Book you are most anticipating for 2016 (non-debut)?
Trial of Apollo and Lady Midnight.

Series Ending/A Sequel you are most anticipating in 2016?
The Raven King and Hammer of Thor are definitely at the top of that list.

One thing you hope to accomplish or do in 2016?
Get better at actually posting reviews.

A 2016 release you’ve already read & recommend to everyone:

I haven’t read any, but I do have an ARC of Dreamology by Lucy Keating I hope to get to soon!

 

My Full List of Books I Read In 2015

You have read 69 of 60 books in 2015.

Say Something!

