Red Queen By Victoria Aveyard Book Review

22328546

Original Release Date: February 10th, 2015

Date I Read The Book: Novemeber 28-29th 2015

My Star Rating: 4.5 stars

Chronology: First book in a series. Debut Novel.

How I Own It: I have the hardcover. My friend bought it for my birthday back in October.

Official Summary:
This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.
The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.
That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.
Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.
But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…

My Review:

Red Queen may not be the most unique novel, it does borrow from tropes of the genre, from the hidden identity, to secret powers, to a love triangle set in a dystopia. But it makes up for it in sheer magic. The writing is great, easy to understand with foreshadowing and humor woven in, though even I, who almost always can tell what the ending is before it happens, didn’t see the ending coming at all. Nor can I tell you even now which boy Mare will end up with (though I can tell you I’m rooting for Cal).

All the characters are nicely fleshed out, and the worldbuilding, at least what we’ve have seen so far, is vast and amazing. In all, I really loved this book, and i’m excited for the rest of the series.

Favorite Quote(s):

“You want me to pin my entire operation, the entire revolution on some teenaged love story? I can’t believe this.”

“I have to throw my head back and laugh, feeling the eyes of the brothers on me. “Cal betrayed me, and I betrayed him. And you betrayed both of us, in a thousand different ways.” The words are heavy as stone but right. So right. “I choose no one.”

“Some say those are just stories, but I don’t believe that. The gods rule us still. They have come down from the stars. And they are no longer kind.”

“Red in the head, Silver in the heart”

“I can’t believe I didn’t see him for what he was from the beginning: a wolf in sheep’s clothing. And now I’m the sheep pretending to be a wolf.”

 

Cover Thoughts:

I really love the cover! It fits well with the story, being as the main point of conflict is the fact that her blood runs red. And, since she is masquerading as a princess, the crown fits as well.

The cover is embossed, both the image and title text are raised which I like. And it’s a clean cover, not overly busy, and no YA novel girl looking to the side in the awkwardest way possible in sight!

The tagline fits well without giving anything away: “Power is a dangerous game”.

You should read this if you like…

Different parts of this book remind me of several others, which for some people is a turn off, but it was similar without being the exact same, so I could appreicate the similarity to some of my favorite novels without feeling like a was reading a poor copy.

Here are the ones it reminds me of:

  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas (Taken to the castle and she has a plot to kill, need I say more)
  • Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (Mare’s personality and disgruntlement with all her love interests reminds me of Katniss in the best way possible)
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass (Mostly, because there are three love interests which reminds me of The Selection, though Mare is far less annoying than America)
  • I’m sure there are more but these are the ones coming to mind!

 

10 thoughts on “Red Queen By Victoria Aveyard Book Review

Say Something!

