Summer Reading: Required and Fun Lists

Summer is finally here!

(Well, today is technically the last day of school, but still.)

Which means two things: Everyone suddenly has the time to read, and… well, school required reading is also a thing. For me, its no different, save for the addition of the fact that for the entirety of June, I have no time to read because I will be at summer camp, and we have very little free time there. Also, lugging hardcovers across state-lines is not fun.

So, first things first, let’s get the boring out of the way, with:

Required Reading:

I have quite a bit of it, since I’m taking four AP core classes next year.

  • AP Chem packet (Yay!…not really)
  • American Colonies by Alan Taylor (For APUSH) + some sort of essay/assignment thing to go with it to prove I read it.
  • On Writing: A Memoir of The Craft by Stephen King (Must annotate)
  • Thank You For Arguing: What What Aristotle, Lincoln, And Homer Simpson Can Teach Us About the Art of Persuasion by Jay Heinrichs (Also Must annotate + SOAPSTone analysis)
  • Four Misc. Essays for AP Lang. (ALSO must annotate)

Yeah, that’s what I have to do for school. Boring right? I don’t mind the reading very much, and I’m actually quite excited for On Writing, I just hate doing the assignments.

 

Fun Reading List:

The thing everyone cares about! This will span the entire summer because I’m terrible at keeping track of months.

  • Hamilton by Ron Chernow – Don’t judge me okay? I want to…
  • Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin Manuel Miranda – Does this surprise anyone? It shouldn’t.
  • City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – Because its getting ridiculous that I haven’t finished it.
  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – See above.
  • The Shadowhunter Academy novellas – I have them, but I need to read Heavenly Fire first.
  • Percy Jackson Greek Gods and Greek Heroes – Because they are mocking me and I need more Percy in my life.
  • Sword Of Summer by Rick Riordan – I started this in October….
  • Trial of Apollo by Rick Riordan – I just got it and I’m dying to read it.
  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan – Last John Green book I haven’t read.
  • Dreamology by Lucy Keating – Technically an arc I got back in November from my city’s book fair that I haven’t read because I’m terrible.
  • Timelord Fairytales by Justin Richards – Because I need something to fill the void that is a full year without Doctor Who.
  • And whatever else I get to reading, but these are my main goals. I need to read at least two books a week this summer, and I need to read a total of 30 something books this summer, I am so behind on my goodreads challenge and camp only puts me back further.

So, what do you think of my summer reading list? I’m not splitting it into months because I am terrible of both following that and keeping track of what day it is in the summer.

What are you reading? Have you read any of these? Do you have any summer required reading for school? Let me know!

 

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading: Required and Fun Lists

  1. I’m definitely seeing a theme in your fun reading here! Enjoy.

    Have you listened to any of the Big Finish Doctor Who audio stories? I picked up The Diary of River Song last year and really enjoyed it. Their production values are astounding.

    Like

Say Something!

