Discussion: Monthly TBRs

If you’ve been reading my blog for, basically any length of time, you’ll notice that I don’t make monthly TBRs (I DID make a summer TBR but that is a different thing that I’m not talking about right now). (And yes I’m posting this the same day as my Book-Tube-A-Thon TBR but…Shut up!)

A lot of you might question this choice, especially because TBRs are such a staple of book blogging. But I do have my reasons. Well…reason.

My reason is this: I don’t like being told what to do.

Phased differently: I am bad at life/bad at following directions.

What I mean by this is, even when I myself am telling myself to do the thing/read the book, my inner stubborn toddler who only knows the word NO rebels and decides I cannot listen to my own directions. So, TBR just ever seem to work for me. Even when I made them, I would get to one book on the list and then either read books entirely different from the TBR or hit a reading slump in my resistance OF the TBR.

Since this was such a common thing, I just decided not to post/make TBRs anymore. If I can’t follow them, there is no point. I just never know what I’ll be in the mood to read that month.

So tell me, am I alone in this? Does anyone else face this problem or a similar one? Or do I sound like a crazy person? Let me know! Please!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Discussion: Monthly TBRs

  1. escapingreality5274 says:

    I usually choose 2-3 books I really want to read that month, then leave the rest to chance. Since I usually read about 7 per month, it leaves me a lot of room to choose what I please.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think picking up what you feel like at the time is the best way to enjoy what you are reading.
    But I have both. So I wont stop myself from picking up a book when the mood strikes me. but I also have a TBR Jar, which I placed a number of titles I wanted to read this year. I usually try to pick one from there and see how I feel about it. Since they are ones I def have been meaning to read, I usually get to it reasonably soon. For example I put 60 books in the jar, have read 55 books this year so far.. but only 24 have been TBR jar selections. so I mix it up.

    Like

Say Something!

