Review: Finding Audrey

23305614

 

Original Release Date:

June 9th 2015

Date I Read The Book:

Jan. 18 2016

My Star Rating:

4 Stars

Chronology:

Standalone

Official Summary:

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

My Review:

This is a pretty solid book, its a cute romance with believable characters and awesome family dynamics which I feel is usually lacking in YA novels. The mental health aspect is, I feel, fairly accurately portrayed, save for the end when I feel the cheesy slightly-watered-down version of dealing with mental health issues become more into “a boy fixes everything because she needs to be fixed” preachy-ness, but only a little. She does pull it back to be “learning to live with it” at the end rather than “he fixes her completely”.

Now, this is my first Sophie Kinsella book, and I have to say I really enjoyed it, and will probably be reading her other books sometime in the future.

If you want a contemporary that is a little different, more about her than the romance, want to learn a little bit more about how anxiety disorders affect people, I say read this book. It doesn’t get all “dark and twisty” like some books of the ilk, but it doesn’t ignore the difficulties Aubrey faces.

I’d say if you like the sound of it, read, I don’t think it’ll disappoint you.

(I wrote this quickly, so sorry if it’s vaguely in coherent).

Quotes:

“I think what I’ve realized is, life is all about climbing up, slipping down, and picking yourself up again. And it doesn’t matter if you slip down. As long as you’re kind of heading more or less upwards. That’s all you can hope for. More or less upwards.” 
― Sophie Kinsella, Finding Audrey

“They talk about “body language,” as if we all speak it the same. But everyone has their own dialect. For me right now, for example, swiveling my body right away and staring rigidly at the corner means, “I like you.” Because I didn’t run away and shut myself in the bathroom. I just hope he realizes that.” 
― Sophie Kinsella, Finding Audrey

“I’ve come to think of my lizard brain as basically a version of Felix. It’s totally random and makes no sense and you can’t let it run your life. If we let Felix run our lives, we’d all wear superhero costumes all day long and eat nothing but ice-cream. But if you try to fight Felix, all you get is wails and screams and tantrums, and it all gets more and more stressy. So the thing is to listen to him with half an ear and nod your head and then ignore him and do what you want to do. Same with the lizard brain.” 
― Sophie Kinsella, Finding Audrey

“(I’ve often noticed that people equate “having a sense of humour” with “being an insensitive moron.”)” 
― Sophie Kinsella, Finding Audrey

2 thoughts on “Review: Finding Audrey

  1. Nice! I love how direct your review is.
    I still haven’t had the chance of reading Finding Audrey yet but let me just tell you that I’m an avid fan of Kinsella and after reading tons of her books, none of them ceased to make me laugh or fall in love. Best chicklit author I’ve met and she makes the wittiest female characters ever.
    I recommend you try the ff. books: Undomestic Goddess, Twenties Girl, I’ve Got Your Number and Remember Me. They’re much lighter, easier reads than Finding Audrey, I bet.

    Like

Say Something!

