Review: First & Then

23310751

Original Release Date:

October 13th, 2015

Date I Read The Book:

May 2016

My Star Rating:

4 stars

Chronology:

Standalone

Official Summary:

Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them: first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights in this contemporary novel about falling in love with the unexpected boy, with a new brother, and with yourself.

My Review: (Vague Spoilers)

This was a short and sweet (though slightly cheesy) book. Good if you want something easy to breeze through in an afternoon, or if you like rom-coms. It is also the second book I read this year that is compared to Friday Night Lights (a show I have never seen and do not intend to), I didn’t realize that “Friday Night Lights” was a football reference until embarrassingly late in the book (to be fair, my high school doesn’t have a football team and my knowledge of the sport doesn’t extend past what you see in teen movies and what my state’s team is).

The family aspect is cute and well executed. The plot was well paced, and didn’t feel rushed. It reads sort of like a novel that an ABC Family movie would be based on, which isn’t a bad thing, I like those movies, but it is a taste that not everyone has.

And don’t worry, despite what the synopsis sounds like, its not a love triangle, not really.

If you like cute contemporaries, or want to read something thats funny and doesn’t require much brain power, I’d recommend it. It was a solidly enjoyable book (even if all the football went over my head, I’m a bookworm not a jock).

Favorite/Famous Quotes:

“As far as I was concerned, physical education was evil. You take a bunch of teenagers, make them strip down in front of each other in a locker room, have them don hideous matching uniforms, and then measure their worth based on their ability to chuck balls at a net, into a hoop, or at each other. It was just. Evil.” 
― Emma Mills, First & Then

“Tragic deaths aren’t avoidable. That’s what Ezra said outside Sam’s wake, and even though–to use Foster’s phrasing–I didn’t know anything about anything, I felt in this moment that Ezra was wrong. What often makes something tragic is that it can be avoided.”
― Emma Mills, First & Then

Say Something!

