The Lonely Hearts Club Book Review

6609714

Original Release Date:

January 1st, 2010

Date I Read The Book:

May, 2016

My Star Rating:

3 stars

Chronology:

First in a duology

Official Summary:

Love is all you need… or is it? Penny’s about to find out in this wonderful debut.

Penny is sick of boys and sick of dating. So she vows: no more. It’s a personal choice. . . and, of course, soon everyone wants to know about it. And a few other girls are inspired. A movement is born: The Lonely Hearts Club (named after the band from Sgt. Pepper). Penny is suddenly known for her nondating ways . . . which is too bad, because there’s this certain boy she can’t help but like. . . .

My Review: (Vague Spoilers)

The book was suitably funny, and would probably be really enjoyable to any 13-16 year old girl. I liked it but didn’t love it. I felt really preachy and ended up contradicting its own message that “you don’t need a guy to be happy” by making everyone’s happy ending be, wait for it, getting together with a guy.

The book is fairly stereotypical and while I liked the girl power message I do think it never made the point it tried to make because it was a romance book and played into too many tropes of the genre.

It was cute and funny though, I will give it that. And it was decent enough as a short “I’m bored at school” read. Though of all the books I’ve read by this author, this is my least favorite.

Favorite/Famous Quotes:

“I tried to remember what Rita had said about being a bigger person. I could either calmly tell him that he was mistaken or let him have it. I could be the bigger person or I could be like any normal sixteen-year-old.
Like there really was a choice.
“First off, you ever call me a babe again and no medical team on earth will be able to tell that you were once a guy.”
I was only sixteen after all.” 
― Elizabeth Eulberg, The Lonely Hearts Club

“You wouldn’t know how to pinch the right buttons on a girl if we came with manuals.” 
― Elizabeth Eulberg, The Lonely Hearts Club

Say Something!

