The Ultimate Book Tag

Intro:

I’ve got another tag to do! And I was tagged by a different person! See! More than one person likes me!

I was tagged by the wonderful LivingInFiction. Check out her blog, she deserves it.

This tag took so long because I used like 30 gifs/pictures. As always, I didn’t make them.

Without further ado, lets get to this tag!


The Tag

Do you get sick while reading in the car?

2004

I don’t actually! (My mom yells at me when I read in the car because she thinks I will but I don’t!). That being said, I don’t read much in the car because being in the car puts me to sleep (yes, I am a toddler). I DO get sick reading on a plane, though thats more the plane’s fault than the book’s fault.

Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

large

I don’t really compare writing styles because I’m not very good at analyzing styles. I either like something or I don’t, but I’m bad at pinpointing both the good and bad in things, including style (This will be a problem for me in AP Lang this year.)

This isn’t be copping out of answering though, it is a legitimate issue I have. To give you some perspective, I still like Twilight.

Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give three points to defend yourself.

2005

Harry Potter because:

  1. Its longer, so there is more to enjoy.
  2. You don’t want to punch the main character in the face.
  3. Harry Potter practically taught me how to read (or at least how to enjoy reading), I can’t not favor it.

Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it? (Besides books…)

54dc506b50ba5_-_tumblr_ncop9llwux1qj4315o1_50012aaf900-e7cd-0133-242b-0e1b1c96d76b

 

 

 

 

 

When I’m going out places, I carry my generic-supermarket-branded drawstring bag with me, generally holding my wallet and kindle and charger (rarely anything else). either that or its my school bag which has…well…all my school stuff.

Do you smell your books?

2006

Sometimes…

Books with or without illustration?

542c9d3f-0e47-4bd7-81ec-812579640265

Depends. I don’t particularly have a preference.

What book did you love while reading it but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

lbl9duw

Twilight. But that isn’t an uncommon answer to this question…

Do you have a funny story involving books from your childhood?

88e5a38a473db534a6995ea06c25a9d8

Well…

In the fourth grade the teacher called my parents because I was reading Twilight, asked her  what something meant, and she wanted to make sure my parents knew I was reading it because it was “age inappropriate”. My parents did not care.

In second grade I wanted to read Harry Potter because I had watched the first four movies (all that were out at the time). The librarian didn’t let me check them out because the reading level was too high for me. My grandma bought me the box set for my birthday and I stubbornly read all seven books (which are at a range of 6th to 10th grade reading level for difficulty) when my reading level was roughly that of the average first grader (I was a poor reader). It took me all school year (like 8 months) but I read them all just to prove the librarian wrong. My reading level progressed so quickly and I so constantly had a Harry Potter book in my hand that my teacher once accidentally called me Hermione when I raised my hand (and I answered without a second’s hesitation).

In 8th grade I was reading My Sister’s Keeper under the desk instead of doing my actual work. Finished it and started crying hysterically in the middle of class. My friend sees that I’m reading a book and starts laughing at me. Literally no one in the class cared but the poor substitute teacher freaked out.

What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

fly-on-the-wall-pb

Fly On The Wall by E. Lockhart at 182 pages.

What is the thickest book on your shelf?

under_the_dome_final

I have “The Complete Plays Of William Shakespeare” at 1194 pages. Though if that doesn’t count as a singular book I have Under The Dome by Stephen King at 1072 pages.

Do you write as well as you read? Do you see yourself being an author?

giphy3

Yes, I do write. (I’m bad at it, but I do enjoy it)

I do WANT to be an author one day.

When did you get into reading?

tumblr_n531pwyxtv1rx3q30o1_500

Age 7 or so? Maybe age 8.

What is your favorite classic book?

635827849503909170-1766847342_same

^My stance on classics.

I haven’t actually READ many classics. I like adaptations of Pride & Prejudice, but I haven’t read it. (I tried when I was ten, then gave up.)

I LOVE Alice In Wonderland and Peter Pan.

Though I’m not sure they count as classics…

In school, is your best subject English/Language Arts?

tumblr_n991k27dj31tdjuqvo1_500

Usually, yes. This past year? I somehow got a better grade in AP Biology of all things than in English. Huh?

If you were given a book as a present that you’ve read before and hated, what would you do?

Do what my mother taught and tell the person I love the present while smiling (and lying through my teeth).

I’d then either sell it or re-gifted it to someone I knew would like it/wants to read it.

What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

gallagher-girls

Nothing is coming to mind no.

I really like The Gallagher Girls series. Which I guess is similar to Harry Potter because they are at a boarding school (for spies though not magic) and all the characters are great.

What is a bad habit you do (besides rambling) while filming?

rambling2bgif

I used to have a booktube channel, but a poorly equipped computer drove that to die prematurely. So as it stands, my filming bad habit it not actually doing it.

What is your favorite word?

a57f71b0-b402-47a2-8760-dd28be6f3e5d

^When people don’t understand the words I use.

 

I really like “defenestrate”, “flyting” and “apropos”.

Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb?

tumblr_msitjogd3h1svctabo1_500

^Me whenever someone at school tries to argue that they know better than I do.

Nerd. Definitely.

8de1447af8c98789bf676a6b28a0ed46

 

The following gif applies to the rest of these questions:
tumblr_m643u2dyin1rwcc6bo1_500

Now to actually answer them.

Vampires or Fairies. Why?

I like both. But I’ll say fairies just because I haven’t read enough fairy books, I’ve read a lot of vampire books.

Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

For sure spirits. Werewolves can be hit or miss but I LOVE a good ghost story. (I was the kid who watched Silent Hill at age five after all).

Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires. I don’t really love zombie books, I have to be in a specific mood. I did like Warm Bodies though, and I plan on reading World War Z.

Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

tumblr_malk2pbifb1ruloaco1_500

I really can’t choose on this. It varies by book and by my mood. Sometimes I LOVE love triangles (when they are done well, i.e., Throne of Glass) but sometimes they annoy me (Matched, ugh). I always love Forbidden romances though (Raven Cycle anyone?).

Full on romance, or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

giphy2

I like both action books and romance books. And I will say I wish we had more YA action-y books without the romance. That being said, it depends on my mood which one I’ll reach for, but I have always loved “action-packed with a few love scenes”, I only started reading full-on romance/contemporary about two years ago.

 

 

And that was The Ultimate Book Tag!

I tag: 

AdoptABookAUS

Icebreaker694

RakioddBooks

TheOrangutanLibrarian

Calliopethebookgoddess

 

 

Hope you liked this! Let me know you agree with my answers or why you disagree!

To those I tagged, sorry if you’ve already done this, but have fun to those who haven’t!

If you’re not tagged but want to do this, feel free to consider yourself tagged!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Say Something!

