Book Review: Tone Deaf

 

25898555

Original Release Date:

May 3rd 2016

Date I Read The Book:

October 2016

My Star Rating:

4.5 Stars

Chronology:

Standalone

Official Summary:

Ali Collins was a child prodigy destined to become one of the greatest musicians of the twenty-first century—until she was diagnosed with a life-changing brain tumor. Now, at seventeen, Ali lives in a soundless world where she gets by with American Sign Language and lip-reading. She’s a constant disappointment to her father, a retired cop fighting his own demons, and the bruises are getting harder to hide.

When Ali accidentally wins a backstage tour with the chart-topping band Tone Deaf, she’s swept back into the world of music. Jace Beckett, the nineteen-year-old lead singer of the band, has a reputation. He’s a jerk and a player, and Ali wants nothing to do with him. But there’s more to Jace than the tabloids let on. When Jace notices Ali’s bruises and offers to help her escape to New York, Ali can’t turn down the chance at freedom and a fresh start. Soon she’s traveling cross-country, hidden away in Jace’s RV as the band finishes their nationwide tour. With the help of Jace, Ali sets out to reboot her life and rediscover the music she once loved.

My Review: (Vague Spoilers)

I read this over the course of a single day. Started it on my phone in homeroom, read it through APUSH and lunch, read in the car, and read when I got home till I finished (mostly in an effort to put of dealing with my chemistry homework and thinking about the PSAT for as long as possible.)

This is a short (just under 300 pages) and cute read. The romance is fluffy, though the slightest bit insta-lovey, it gets away with it because you pretty much know that from the get go, it doesn’t portray itself as anything else. This book doesn’t shy away from the harder topics, like our main character’s dealings with abuse.

The writing was good, nothing special, but Jace and Ali each as distinct voices, I was never confused as to who I was reading from.

I loved the side characters, especially Avery, and Killer and Arrow’s relationship was really cute. I loved all the little nerdy references they gave us too, and Cuddle’s backstory, the way all those little details were fit in made the characters feel real.

My main problems with this book were that the ending felt just a bit rushed, I felt like I needed about 50 more pages, and their were certain conversations I would have liked to see more of, like Jace’s with Tony, but I understand that we are limited by the POV in that instance, namely the fact that our main character is deaf.

I liked the way disability was dealt with in this book, not pitied or romanticized, it was just another part of life. One that took adjusting too, but didn’t make Ali any better or worse as a person, which I feel is the best way to represent disability in books, as something that exists, because it does, without fixating on it as the end-all-be-all of someone’s personality or life. I liked that Ali was a person first and deaf second, which is rare but pleasant in this sort of book.

In all, it had its flaws, it is by no means perfect, but it was a cute, fluffy, fast read that wasn’t dumbed down or overly saccharine and I very much enjoyed it. If you’ve been needing a happy ending sort of story, or you think you’d like this, I recommend you pick it up!

Read This, If You Like:

  • Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout
  • You Look Different In Real Life by Jennifer Castle
  • Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
One thought on “Book Review: Tone Deaf

Say Something!

