NetGalley Review – Nemesis #1: Dreadnought

30279514

I received an e-arc of this book from netgalley and this is my honest review.

Original Release Date:

January 24th 2017

Date I Read The Book:

January 2017

My Star Rating:

4 stars

Chronology:

First in a series

Official Summary:

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, she was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But then her second-hand superpowers transformed her body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but between her father’s dangerous obsession with curing her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and the classmate who is secretly a masked vigilante, Danny’s first weeks living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined.

She doesn’t have much time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer, a cyborg named Utopia, still haunts the streets of New Port City. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

My Review: (Vague Spoilers)

Diversity!

Often, diverse books are contemporaries, as if a gay/trans/etc. character cannot star in a fantasy or sic-fi plot because their plot revolves around being gay/trans/etc.

I like diverse contemporaries, but I’m glad we got a ski-fi book too, because this book was great!

I thought the subject of Danny being trans was well written and well handled, though I have no first-hand experience with such things, so take my words with a grain of salt.

Danny had a unique, refreshing voice, and I loved her. Loved the way she got her powers and why. I loved the side characters (even the ones I hated, they added to the story), the villain was amazing, and Sarah’s backstory was my favorite thing (Danny and Sarah would also make the cutest couple).

The plot was well paced, you’re grabbed from the beginning and I didn’t get bored once. (I read this in about 2 days).

If you like superhero stories, or if you’re looking for a diverse read, I highly recommend picking this one up!

5 thoughts on “NetGalley Review – Nemesis #1: Dreadnought

  1. I’m reading this right now, and I can’t even put into words how refreshing it is to see trans narratives in a different genre than contemporary, while still having that honest and authentic feel. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Awesome review!

    Like

  2. I completely agree that it’s frustrating how diverse characters mainly seem to exist in contemporary novels that are basically ‘issues’ books as though their sexual orientation or gender identity is the most important thing about them. *eyeroll* Very excited about this book, more diversity in the superhero sub-genre, please!

    Like

Say Something!

