Arc Review: Nowhere Near You

30038977

*I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Original Release Date:

Feb. 7th 2017

Date I Read The Book:

End of January/Beg. of February – 2017

My Star Rating:

5 stars

Chronology:

Sequel

Official Summary:

Following up her acclaimed debut, Because You’ll Never Meet Me, Leah Thomas continues the stories of Ollie and Moritz in another heart-warming story of unique friendship.

Ollie and Moritz might never meet, but their friendship knows no bounds. Their letters carry on as Ollie embarks on his first road trip away from the woods–no easy feat for a boy allergic to electricity–and Moritz decides which new school would best suit an eyeless boy who prefers to be alone.

Along the way they meet other teens like them, other products of strange science who lead seemingly normal lives in ways Ollie and Moritz never imagined possible: A boy who jokes about his atypical skeleton; an aspiring actress who hides a strange deformity; a track star whose abnormal heart propels her to victory. Suddenly the future feels wide open for two former hermits. But even as Ollie and Moritz dare to enjoy life, they can’t escape their past, which threatens to destroy any progress they’ve made. Can these boys ever find their place in a world that might never understand them?


Since this is a sequel, there will be spoilers for the first book in this review. You can read my review of the first book here: Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me

Read this review at you’re own risk if you haven’ read the first book. (Though I love these books to bits so GO READ IT).


My Review: (Vague Spoilers)

I discovered these books by accident.

I was searching for an e-book to read, stumbled across Because You’ll Never Meet Me. I picked it up thinking it was a cute, gay love story told in letters. I also thought it was a standalone. I was very wrong about these books.

These books are part-contemporary romance/friendship, and part modern day Sci-fi (a-la X-Men or Stranger Things) and are super funny, filled with pop culture references. It is also told entirely in letters. I love how we learn more about our characters as they grow to trust each other, and how we discover secrets of the world around them as they do. The voices come clear distinct and amazingly well.

Our two main characters are: Ollie, a sheltered American boy whose allergic to electricity and Mortiz, a blind german boy who also happens to be gay.

I spent the entire first book dying for them to get together – and they didn’t. But I was satisfied with Mortiz’s love story (a blind boy and a mute boy and really they are so cute) but Liz annoyed the hell out of me. I thought the first book was a standalone, and I was crushed, I needed more, but the ending was well wrapped up, so I didn’t even think about subsequent books.

Cue November, where I discover this book exists, and go into a frenzy. I was lucky enough to get an ARC but took a while to get through it to savor-it/not fail school.

So, Nowhere Near You.

We start off where we left in the last book. Ollie crossing the power line to go an a road trip and find the other oddball kids. Mortiz trying to confront both his past and his future. Both of them ingesting over the fact that they may now actually meet.

And within two pages we get a Hamilton reference, so you know its great.

I love the character relationships in these books, and I loved seeing more of their pasts as they learn secrets kept from them, I loved meeting new mutant kids. (Ollie’s meet the mutants road trip felt very X-men) The writing in these books is funny, and a little heartbreaking and so so so GOOD! (Also, Mortiz angsty-ly crushing on Ollie from across the ocean through me off guard and made me very happy because for once they were actually talking about their feelings!)

This installment does have more sci-fi than the first as we learn more about the “blunder kinder” – but is still cross-genre contemporary/sci-fi like the first.

I don’t want to say too much else, or I’ll give something away.

But, I highly recommend these books, and this sequel, and I am already desperate for a third book (that I’m not sure exists or not – it does work as a duology). Easily one of my favorite series.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Arc Review: Nowhere Near You

  1. Oh wow, the existence of this sequel completely missed my radar! Thank you so much for bringing it to my attention.

    I ADORED Because You’ll Never Meet Me, especially in audiobook format. I’m hoping I can listen to it with the same narrators.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. omg omg, i loved the first book so much, i cannot wait to read this one and after your review, i’m shaking with emotion!!! i’m so glad you enjoyed it and i hope i get to read it soon because the wait was killing me!

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something!

