Book Review: Milk and Honey

23513349

Original Release Date:

November 4th 2014

Date I Read The Book:

January 2017

My Star Rating:

4 stars

Chronology:

Poetry Collection

Official Summary:

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

My Review: (Vague Spoilers)

This poetry collection is short and bitter-sweet. Eye opening and heart-breaking but well written and nicely organized – it doesn’t shy away from the harder topics that most consider taboo.

I liked the organization of the free-verse poems and good for fans of feminist poetry like “The Princess Saves Herself In This One”.

I’d recommend it.

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Milk and Honey

  1. Concise, interesting, and to the point. I much prefer your style of review, my own is often given to rambling (gushing if I particularly liked the book). You’ve definitely persuaded me to have a look!

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something!

