Top Ten Tuesday: That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Anyone can participate and its a lot of fun, so I highly encourage it!

Let me know if you’re a part too!


April 25:  Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book (topic originally done back in 2013) — tell us all your book turn offs!


tumblr_n0lrmiyYOm1scwli8o2_500

1 – Really bad reviews – 

Especially if they point out particularly problematic themes or are by a reviewer I respect.

2 – Student/Teacher Relationships

Why is this a thing? its cringe-y and weird. Its more a thing in TV, I’ve never seen it in a book but just…no. Just no.

3 – Unnecessary romance/sex – 

Sometimes romance its entirely unnecessary to the book it and feels so forced its unenjoyable. And sex scenes just make me uncomfortable.

4 – TERRIBLE COVERS

Some covers just don’t even merit a second glance to read the synopsis they’re that bad. Like Generic people looking off the distance stock photos etc.

5 – Genre –

I dislike adult romance and horror generally. And I’m particularly picky with mysteries and adult fiction in general.

tenor

6 – Expensive –

Most YA books can be found online somewhere or another for $11-$16, or at the library etc. If I can’t find it anywhere for under standard price of $17, its probably not getting read. Unless its a special case like signed/collector’s edition.

7 – Author Drama –

When they is scandal involving the author – at least in modern day – being rude to fans, homophobic, racist etc. it makes me not want to support their work.

8 – Terrible or Absent Parents –

If terrible parents is a focus of the plot, then go for it! If thats the story you’re telling then tell it. But if its a YA novel, having terrible parents mentioned offhand one or twice and never again is just lazy. Especially so in contemporary!

9 – I Feel Like I’ve Read This Before –

Sometimes when writing in a certain genre, some elements remain similar. I’m alright with that. Certain tropes – many of which I in fact enjoy – come with certain plot lines. But when a book I’m looking at seems nearly identical to another, I’m put of reading it. Example, on netgalley I think i’ve seen three books up for request on the “speech/gestures are now copyrighted” theme and why? They don’t seem to have any differences.

10 – Terrible MC –

I can deal with an awkward or jerk MC if they are meant to be that way. If its a part of the plot. But sometimes MCs act so astoundingly stupid/awkward/terrible I have to put the book down because I cannot cope with such idiocy.

tumblr_inline_mjqoaqdPQ11qz4rgp

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

  1. So much yes! The unnecessary romance/sex angle especially. The type of books I read (science fiction and horror) just don’t need a lot of that in them, and it drives me nuts when authors to try to shove a side plot involving it in there.

    Our TTT

    Like

    • Glad you agree!

      I LOVE scifi, but most scifi I see is either “war and spaceships exploding” or “inter-planetary sex” focused and neither appeals to me. I prefer “weird science craziness”, “weird alien culture” and “time travel” type scifi.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I generally don’t read horror or short stories but I had a class this semester that only focused on the horror genre and they were all short stories. I actually ended up enjoying the class a lot and I’m more open to reading other horror stories. I’ve also come to the conclusion that fantasy series are not for me, with the exclusion of HP of course.

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something!

