Adaptation Review: Everything Everything


Book To Movie Adaptation

movieposter

Details:

A teenager who’s spent her whole life confined to her home falls for the boy next door.

Director:

Stella Meghie

Writers:

J. Mills Goodloe (screenplay),  Nicola Yoon (based on the book by)

Stars:

Amandla Stenberg,  Nick Robinson,  Anika Noni Rose

PG-13 |  1h 36min | DramaRomance | 19 May 2017 (USA)

Book Details

Published September 1st 2015

18692431-2

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


Book Review:

I read the book earlier last year and gave it four stars.

Its well written, funny, with great characters and the romance is well paced. I won’t spoil anything but – like for most people – the ending felt a bit, well, off. Like a cop out. What was done could have been done better. But it was four stars none-the-less and I over all enjoyed it.


Movie Review:

I watched Everything Everything the week after it opened with a group of friends. Of the group, I was the only one who’d read the book before hand. I will say my friends who didn’t read the book did really enjoy the movie – it it holds up well as a movie, not just as an adaptation. My mom keeps referring to it as “teen angst, Fault in our stars B***s***” though its no where near as sad.

The movie is well paced, it doesn’t feel rushed (well, the end does a bit, but its the same with the book so…), the acting and dialogue I thought were really good. I loved the casting and the way the set was done, and the outfits. Everything fit really well.

Maddie and Olly are completely awkward in the cutest way – definitely not instalove. And me and my friends were giggling for most of the movie from the dialogue and the bundtcake. The way they weave in the texting etc. actually worked really well and wasn’t a weird interruption.

I overall really liked the movie, and I thought as an adaptation, its one of the best I’m seen, as it stayed completely true to the book – both in plot and character feel – which is rare.

If you liked the book – or think you might but haven’t gotten around to it – I’d say check it out. And if you’re worried about sadness, it is nowhere near as sad as If I stay or The Fault in our Stars (as my mom enjoys comparing it to).

4 thoughts on “Adaptation Review: Everything Everything

  1. I totally agree with everything you say…. I was really happy with the way everything turned out… it stayed true to the book… i agree that it isn’t as sad at TFIOS but it’s really beautiful… 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something!

