books, reading order, Themed Book Recommendations

Reading Order: Discworld

What is the Discworld?

From 1983 to 2015, The Discworld was the main satirical/parody fantasy series written by English author Terry Pratchett.

It’s an anthology series and each novel contains one stand-alone story, most of them exploiting fantasy clichés and talking about religion, politics, business, race, science, technology, pop culture, modern art or more in a satirical way.

Discworld Books In Order:

The can be read in technically any order, as there generally stand alone. There are however recurring characters.

I. Publication Order:


  1. The Color of Magic
  2. The Light Fantastic
  3. Equal Rites
  4. Mort


  1. Sourcery
  2. Wyrd Sisters
  3. Pyramids
  4. Guards! Guards!


  1. Eric
  2. Moving Pictures
  3. Reaper Man
  4. Witches Abroad


  1. Small Gods
  2. Lords and Ladies
  3. Men at Arms
  4. Soul Music


  1. Interesting Times
  2. Maskerade
  3. Feet of Clay
  4. Hogfather


  1. Jingo
  2. The Last Continent
  3. Carpe Jugulum
  4. The Fifth Elephant


  1. The Truth
  2. Thief of Time
  3. The Last Hero
  4. The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents


  1. Night Watch
  2. The Wee Free Men
  3. Monstrous Regiment
  4. A Hat Full of Sky


  1. Going Postal
  2. Thud!
  3. Wintersmith
  4. Making Money


  1. Unseen Academicals
  2. I Shall Wear Midnight
  3. Snuff


  1. Raising Steam
  2. The Shepherd’s Crown

II. By Characters/Mini-Series


A failed student at the Unseen University for wizards in Ankh-Morpork, Rincewind is mostly known for his tendency to solve minor problems by turning them into major disasters. He spends most of his time running away from bands of people who want to kill him. It’s hard to explain, but he’s still alive.

  1. The Colour of Magic
  2. The Light Fantastic
  3. Sourcery
  4. Eric
  5. Interesting Times
  6. The Last Continent
  7. The Last Hero


The personification of death, so he is a black-robed skeleton carrying a scythe. As a Grim Reaper, he is only a part of the universal Death, also known as Azrael. His jurisdiction is the Discworld, of course.

  1. Mort
  2. Reaper Man
  3. Soul Music
  4. Hogfather
  5. Thief of Time


The witches are very different from the wizard, because their magic consists mostly of finding what makes everything else work … and they rarely do any magic anyway. Most of the time, they work hard, use common sense and their brand of psychology called headology.

  1. Equal Rites
  2. Wyrd Sisters
  3. Witches Abroad
  4. Lords and Ladies
  5. Maskerade
  6. Carpe Jugulum

City Watch

The City Watch is the police force of the city of Ankh-Morpork. Their stories center on Sam Vimes, a commander who loves his city and an incorruptible idealist who believes in justice. He is also a cynic.

  1. Guards! Guards!
  2. Men At Arms
  3. Feet of Clay
  4. Jingo
  5. The Fifth Elephant
  6. Night Watch
  7. Thud!
  8. Snuff

Tiffany Aching

Tiffany is the sixth of the Aching children, and she is a young witch in training who started her career at 9.

  1. The Wee Free Men
  2. A Hat Full of Sky
  3. Wintersmith
  4. I Shall Wear Midnight
  5. The Shepherd’s Crown

Moist von Lipwig

Moist von Lipwig was a conman who was captured in Ankh-Morpork and was to be hanged. That’s when Lord Vetinari offered him a job as Ankh-Morpork’s Postmaster General. It’s his start on the road to respectability.

  1. Going Postal
  2. Making Money
  3. Raising Steam

III. Short stories

A Blink of the Screen collecting almost all of Terry Pratchett’s short fiction work, set in the Discworld or not.

If you only want Discworld short stories, read Once More* With Footnotes . It also contains articles and more.

4 thoughts on “Reading Order: Discworld”

Say Something!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s