books, reading order, Themed Book Recommendations

Reading Order: Rick Riordan Books (Percy Jackson, etc.)

Percy Jackson Books in Order:

In the Percy Jackson series, we have the main Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, but also sequel series, short stories and more. For some, it’s hard to know where to put them chronologically. So, here is a way to go.

I. Percy Jackson & the Olympians


  1. The Lightning Thief
  2. The Sea Of Monsters
  3. The Titan’s Curse
  4. The Battle Of The Labyrinth
  5. The Last Olympian
  6. The Demigod Files – A collection of stories set during the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series written by Rick Riordan.
  7. Percy Jackson and the Singer of Apollo – Another short story.

II. The Heroes of Olympus

The Heroes of Olympus is a direct sequel series.


  1. The Lost Hero
  2. The Son of Neptune
  3. The Mark of Athena
  4. The House of Hades
  5. The Blood of Olympus
  6. The Demigod Diaries – It is a collection of stories set during The Heroes of Olympus series written by Rick and his son Haley Riordan.

III. The Kane Chronicles

Based on the Egyptian mythology, The Kane Chronicles is set in the same universe than the other series, but follows Carter and Sadie Kane, powerful magicians and descendants the two pharaohs Narmer and Ramses the Great.


  1. The Red Pyramid
  2. The Throne of Fire
  3. The Serpent’s Shadow

IV. Demigods and Magicians

This is a Camp Half-Blood/Kane Chronicles crossover series of short stories.


  1. The Son of Sobek
  2. The Staff of Serapis
  3. The Crown of Ptolemy

V. The Trials of Apollo

The Trials of Apollo is a sequel series that follows the trials of the god Apollo, who has been turned into a human as punishment from his father and king of the gods Zeus.


  1. The Hidden Oracle
  2. The Dark Prophecy
  3. The Burning Maze

VI. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard is another sequel series. This one follows Magnus Chase, a new demigod is born—this time from Norse mythology. He is a homeless boy from Boston trying to discover his true identity.


  1. The Sword of Summer
  2. The Hammer of Thor
  3. The Ship of the Dead
  4. 9 From the Nine Worlds

VII. Companion Books

These books should be read after you’ve read all of the main books.


  1. Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods
  2. Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes
  3. Hotel Valhalla: Guide to the Norse Worlds

1 thought on “Reading Order: Rick Riordan Books (Percy Jackson, etc.)”

Say Something!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s