Top 5 Wednesday: Ideal Mash-Ups

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


April 18: Ideal Mash-Ups
— You know those comp titles they list in synopses that read something like “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones”! What would be some of your favorite mash ups, that would make you pick up a book? “A mix of ________ and ___________.” Remember, you can also incorporate games, tv, movies, etc. Get creative!


Star Trek meets Learning to Swear in America

– I want YA Star Trek and genius kids.

Doctor Who meets Gallagher Girls

– I want spies and time travel!

Night Circus meets Invictus

– Beautiful writing, bets, time travel, I love it.

Harry Potter meets superheroes

– I want YA superhero boarding school in novel form.

Dr Horrible meets Because You’ll Never Meet Me or Invader Zim

– Conspiracy, friendships, and rooting for the villain.


YA Ni Nu Kuni or Fullmetal Alchemist as well, I just couldn’t think of a mash up for those.

 

Advertisements

Top 5 Wednesday: Auto-Buy Scifi and Fantasy Authors

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


April 11: Auto-Buy Scifi and Fantasy Authors – Booktube SFF Awards Babble Crossover Topic!
— This month’s crossover topic is your auto-buy authors that write SFF.


Victoria Scwab

Image result for Victoria Schwab


Jay Kristoff

Image result for Jay Kristoff


Marissa Meyer

Image result for Marissa Meyer


Leigh Bardugo

Image result for Leigh Bardugo


Andy Weir

Image result for Andy Weir

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Jokesters

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


April 4: Favorite Jokesters
— In honor of April Fools (a bit late but hey, I don’t control when Wednesdays fall), talk about your favorite jokesters, pranksters, and funny characters.


Weasley Twins

(Harry Potter)

Image result for weasley twins


Frankie Landau-Banks

(The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks)

Image result for Frankie Landau-Banks


Jesper

(Six of Crows)

Image result for Jesper (Six of Crows)


Loki

(Norse Mythology)

Image result for Loki


Nikolai

(Grisha Verse)

Image result for (Grisha Verse)

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Teachers/Mentors

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


March 28: Favorite Teachers/Mentors
— Typically, we read about our protagonist being taught by someone wiser than they, whether is it is a teacher as we know them or more of a supernatural/magical mentor. Talk about some of your favorites!

p.s. For the love of god please do not choose Harry Potter characters that is just TOO EASY ūüôā


Chiron (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

pierce_brosnan1

Dimitri Belikov (Vampire Academy)

vampire-academy-2014-film

Miss Honey (Matilda)

4140828323510ecec5723c8ca68c658b-matilda-movie-miss-honey

Mrs. Eva Marie Olinski (The View From Saturday)

4538

Mr. Freeman (Speak)

speak

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy in Other Media

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


March 21: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy in Other Media – Booktube SFF Awards Babbles Crossover Topic!
— This month’s babbles crossover topic involves our favorite SFF outside of books (like movies, tv shows, games, anime, etc.)


I LOVE SCI-FI and fantasy, most of what I watch on tv etc. is SFF, so this is 100% not comprehensive, these are just the first five major ones that came to mind (ex. I also love Star Wars, and comics, etc. etc. etc.)


Star Trek (Original Series)

star-trek-tos-cast

TOS is actually the only Star Trek series I’ve seen entirely…

also – if you like TOS, this fan series continuation is great: Star Trek Continues

Doctor Who

gt5qzmj

Marvel Movies

mcu

Broken Age

317dd4b45c65dc502e3331a336f3d6fd511fe7bc

A super cool video game with¬†Elijah Wood as the main male protagonist’s voice!

Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog

Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books to Read as an Adult

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


March 14: Children’s Books to Read as an Adult
–This one was suggested by another group member! What children’s books do you think deserve revisiting as we get older?


These are going to be less children’s books EVERYONE should revisit, but books from MY childhood that I want to revisit.


9781599901329

1045745

ufevents

s-l1000

capasmp


Younger Childhood:

 

61047g33cbl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

maticover2

9780439148023_mres

71zudqrcdql

w204

 

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Urban Fantasy Books

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


February 28th: Favorite Urban Fantasy Books *Book Babble Crossover Topic*
— Urban Fantasy tends to feature a heavy romance element, so I figured it fit in this month.

The technical urban fantasy definition is: a subgenre of fantasy in which the narrative has an urban setting. Works of urban fantasy are set primarily in the real world and contain aspects of fantasy, such as the discovery of earthbound mythological creatures, coexistence or conflict between humans and paranormal beings, and other changes to city life. A contemporary setting is not strictly necessary for a work of urban fantasy: works of the genre may also take place in futuristic and historical settings, real or imagined.


*In no particular order

1- The Raven Cycle

the-raven-cycle-series

2 – The Mortal Instruments

a1vdptfkusl

3 – The Vampire Academy

220px-the_covers_of_the_six_vampire_academy_books

4 – Curse-workers

whitecat1

5 – Harry Potter

harrypotter

Top Five Wednesday: Side Ships 

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


June 14th: Side Ships 
— Tell us your favorite relationships that don’t involve the protagonist!


(Images not mine)


Magnus and Alec

(From The Mortal Instruments)

tumblr_o4u8fpe1oU1s4cd56o1_540-1459348385.gif


Izzy and Simon

(From The Mortal Instruments)

tumblr_mmf0u182uu1qlvsbto1_500


Finnick and Annie

(From The Hunger Games)

maxresdefault


Nico di Angelo and Will Solace

(From The Heroes of Olympus)

94670cd1e80a2abda5ab822b78220be8


Leo and Calypso

(From The Heroes of Olympus)

6c4ba6162d7a04a1b60a49a31e19d038


Ronan and Adam

(From The Raven Cycle)

the_raven_boys___ronan_lynch_and_adam_parrish_by_roitssomething-d9r00eo

 

Top Five Wednesday: Ravenclaw Reads

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


June 7th: Books For Your Hogwarts House
— Show your Hogwarts House Pride, and tell us the top 5 books that represent your house!


1c861680-e7b0-0133-8007-0e31b36aeb7f0b4b1ac0-e7a9-0133-e6f2-0a315da82319516a5ab0-6adc-0133-4d5b-0e3f8b958f631bb36b20-6adc-0133-0c3c-0e34a4cc753d615ThvjLqFL

Top Five Wednesday: Favorite Minor Characters

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.
If you want to join in checkout the Goodreads page!


May 24th: Favorite Minor Characters
–Minor characters are less than a sidekick or a side character (but not in our hearts!) Everyone will have a different definition of what makes a minor vs a side character but just as an example, I’d consider Ron and Hermione side characters, while Lavender Brown, Oliver Wood, and Dean Thomas are minor characters. Results may vary so don’t get tooooo caught up in it ūüôā


 

1 –¬†Luna Lovegood¬†from¬†Harry Potter¬†

Luna is an undisputedly amazing character. Period. End of story. Its a shame we didn’t get more of her.

2 – Magnus Bane from Mortal Instruments

I just love Magnus okay? Does he even count as a minor character? He’s minor in The Infernal Devices – and he’s great there too so he counts. I love my warlock child. And his warlock child.

3 – Grover from Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Grover is a good best friend to Percy throughout the series. I will forever be mad that we didn’t see him and Percy interacting in Heroes of Olympus.

4 – Seth Clearwater from The Twilight Saga

I have had a weird love of Seth Clearwater since I read Twilight for the first time when I was nine. We literally see him once, and hear of him twice, so I have no idea what this stems from, it it is a thing none-the-less.

5 –¬†Rue¬†from¬†The Hunger Games

Everyone loves Rue. We only had her for a few chapters before what is literally one of the most depressing scenes ever, but she is a beloved character.