books, reading order, Themed Book Recommendations

Reading Order: The Lunar Chronicles

Publication Order:

  1. Cinder
  2. Glitches – Short Story. Collected later in Stars Above.
  3. Scarlet 
  4. The Queen’s Army – Short Story. Collected later in Stars Above.
  5. The Little Android – Short Story. Collected later in Stars Above.
  6. Cress
  7. Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky – Short Story. Collected later in Stars Above.
  8. Fairest 
  9. The Princess and the Guard – Short Story. Collected later in Stars Above.


  1. Winter
  2. Stars Above – A collection of nine short stories – five of which have never before been published – set in the world of the Lunar Chronicles.
  3. Wires and Nerve – graphic novel about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold.
  4. Wires and Nerve, Volume 2: Gone Rogue

The Lunar Chronicles Chronological Order:

It is not advised to read the series in Chronological order the first time around. Some prequels, like Fairest, spoil other books which were published first.

  1. Fairest – Prequel to The Lunar Chronicles.
  2. The Keeper“ – Prequel to The Lunar Chronicles.
  3. Glitches“ – A prequel to Cinder.
  4. The Little Android“ – prequel to Cinder who makes a short appareance, but this short story is not directly related to the events in the books.
  5. The Mechanic“ – prequel to Cinder.
  6. Cinder
  7. The Queen’s Army“– A prequel to Scarlet.
  8. Scarlet
  9. Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky“ – prequel to Cress.
  10. After Sunshine Passes By“ – prequel to Cress.
  11. Cress
  12. The Princess and the Guard“ – Prequel to Winter.
  13. Winter
  14. Wires and Nerve’ graphic novels
  15. Something Old, Something New“ – Epilogue to Winter.

Say Something!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s