books, tag

THE DIM SUM BOOK TAG

THE DIM SUM BOOK TAG

Hello everyone! Today, I come to you with another book tag. This book tag was created by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading with Jenna. I was tagged by Calliope @calliopethebookgoddess. (I know I’m shocked too, for once I’m doing a tag I was actually tagged for).

Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

RULES:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

TEA: A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF HOT BUT TURNED COLD QUICKLY

 

Umm…. Delirium I guess. I really liked it in the beginning, and ended up not even finishing because I got so annoyed with the main character.

CHIU CHOW DUMPLING: A BOOK THAT FEATURES ELEMENTS OF LAND AND SEA

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. For reasons very obvious if you have ever read a Percy Jackson book.

 

RICE NOODLE ROLL: A FAVOURITE MULTI-LAYERED CHARACTER OF YOURS (EG. TRAITS? SKILLS? MORALLY AMBIGUOUS?)

Ethan Walker from the 5th Wave. Not going to say why though because it’s kind of a spoiler.

SHRIMP DUMPLING: A BOOK WITH A TRANSPARENT BLURB THAT GIVES THE STORY AWAY

Virtually any contemporary novel I guess. Or, if you want a specific title, lets go with Twilight.

 

STEAMED BBQ PORK BUNS: A BOOK THAT IS FLUFFY ON THE OUTSIDE BUT PACKS A PUNCH OF FLAVOUR (EG. MESSAGE? DEPTH? CONTROVERSY?)

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Just…read that book okay? Okay.

 

CHICKEN FEET: A BOOK WITH DIVIDED OPINIONS

I’m going to have to agree with Calliope and say The Selection by Keira Cass. Some people love it, some people hate it. I loved The Selection, I was annoyed with The Elite, I have not read The One yet…even though I have had it on my shelf since it came out.

 

LOTUS-WRAPPED STICKY RICE: A BOOK YOU’VE RECEIVED/GIVEN THAT WAS NICELY PACKAGED

Harry Potter boxed set. The American edition hardcovers that come in that giant cardboard trunk. That is the one I have. My grandma gave it to me for christmas of second grade, so…back in 2007.

EGG CUSTARD TART: A BOOK THAT USES SIMPLE INGREDIENTS AND CLICHES BUT EXECUTES IT PERFECTLY

I’m going to go with Red Queen because its the first one that came to mind. It follows a lot of tropes and cliches for its genre (dystopian) but its such a good book it doesn’t feel that way, I guess? I don’t know, all I know is that I am DYING for Glass Sword.

 

MANGO PUDDING WITH EVAPORATED MILK: ANY BOOK RECOMMENDATION + BEVERAGE/SNACK THAT’S A WINNING COMBINATION

Well, I can tell you that this is the one food on this list/tag that I will never try because, well, I am allergic to mango. Not like, dying and can’t breathe allergic, more like, itchy and puffy and annoyed, but still, allergic.

That being said, the best combo is any book + coffee. I nearly always drink coffee while I read.

 

FRIED SESAME BALLS: A BOOK COVER WITH EMBOSSED TEXT/DESIGN YOU JUST LOVE TO RUN YOUR FINGERS OVER

I going to have to go with Carry On. Because, well, because yes.

 

DIM SUM STEAM CART: THE TYPE OF CARRYING BAG YOU USE TO BRING BOOKS AROUND

Usually just by bookbag for school or whatever bag I grab first if I’m going somewhere. Usually by black Publix branded drawstring bag.


I TAG:

Chels
Shealea
Raquel
Shealea
GrishLietenant
Orangutanlibrarian

And you if you’re interested! Consider yourself officially tagged. I would love to hear your answers.

5 thoughts on “THE DIM SUM BOOK TAG”

  1. Thanks so much for the tag! Sorry it took ages for me to get to this. Yeah Twilight doesn’t have much plot for most of it. Have to say I’m in the hate it camp for the Selection- America just got on my nerves so much! Yeah I completely agree with you about Red Queen!!

    Liked by 1 person

Say Something!